A Quick Test Drive of the Mitsubishi i-MiEV

ImageI had a great opportunity to meet with Robert at Malloy Mitsubishi earlier this week. While there, I was able to test drive their electric vehicle, the i-MiEV. While it was only a short few miles around the dealership, it was my first time driving an EV that’s not a Nissan Leaf.

As you may know, the i-MiEV, besides being a pain to spell, is in a different category of electric cars. At least in my mind. It’s smaller and cheaper than than other EVs but still has a lot to offer. Below are some impressions after a quick drive. I am hoping to get a full test drive opportunity.

It is much bigger than it looks. When I saw the car in person, it’s obvious that is is much smaller than my Leaf, but after sitting in it, I can say that it feels much bigger than it’s looks give it credit for.

Power and acceleration. While it didn’t feel as powerful as my Leaf, it still provided smooth and powerful acceleration – more than enough to get you into traffic and merge on the expressway.

Amenities. Let me just say that the car is not stripped down at all. The only features I saw on my Leaf that the i-MiEV didn’t have are heated seats and steering wheel, solar panel, and fast charge port. It is true the Leaf feels much more supple, but the gap was a lot less than I expected.

Hopefully I will have a chance to do a full review of the car. Even for those who have Volts, Leafs, Teslas or whatever, I encourage you to check out the i-MiEV. As I explained to Robert at Mitsubishi, we’re all in this together. The more successful one EV is, the more successful they will all be.

Leave a Reply

